Cattle assessment referendum is Oct. 4
There will be a N. C. Cattle Industry Assessment Referendum vote will take place on Oct. 4. In Haywood County, voting takes place from 8:30a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Extension Center on Raccoon Road.
The North Carolina Cattlemen’s Association conducts referendum, which will be to continue a $1 per head assessment on all cattle sold and marketed in North Carolina for the purposes of advancing the cattle industry in the state.
The money collected will be used to fund the following five areas: youth programs, cattle research, education, promotion of North Carolina cattle and beef, and issues management. The North Carolina dairy industry will also benefit from the funds collected, as a portion of the income will be allocated to the same areas within the dairy sector.
The referendum would continue the original state assessment program, which was first established in 1957. The national beef checkoff assessment of $1 per head will still be collected and will be used according to the guidelines set forth in federal law.
Since the assessment was reinstated on Jan. 1, 2010, research and education projects have been funded to deal with production issues facing North Carolina cattlemen in the areas of management, forage production, feed efficiency, and general input reductions. In addition, we have been able to provide additional services in issues management to help the public have a better understanding of our industry and training for farmers to help them reduce stress on both them and the cattle in their care. Youth programs have been a huge beneficiary of the investments from the assessment as we were able to support livestock schools, judging contests, Skip-A-Thon contests, leadership development, and the very popular Youth Beef Industry Tour, among many others.
Bryan Blinson, executive director of the North Carolina Cattlemen’s Association, states that, “The assessment will be for a period of six years with a recurring referendum if requested. Producers will be eligible for a full refund of their North Carolina assessment by request within 60 days of the sale of the animal with proof of sale, a provision that is not available in the national program due to federal law.
All cattle owners who are at least 18 years of age as of Oct. 4, will be eligible to vote.