CCC announces 2013 Community Pride award winners

By JoAnna Swanson | Feb 05, 2014
Photo by: Dave Dudek Pictured is Dr. Bill Skelton, CCC chairman, JoAnna Swanson, secretary, and Tim Garrett, vice chairman, picking up litter.

The Commission for a Clean County (CCC) announces the 2013 winners of its annual Community Pride Awards program.  This program honors businesses, community groups, civic clubs, schools and individuals (both adults and children) for exceptional efforts in the categories of litter pick-up and control, recycling, beautification of public areas and environmental stewardship, which includes “green” building.

Awards will be given at a luncheon at the Waynesville Inn on Wednesday, Feb. 26.

Community Pride winners are chosen based on quality of effort, quantity of work actually done, consistency in good practices, and commitment of all those involved in any project.

The winners for 2013 are:

—  Advisory Appearance Committee for the town of Canton. The committee has made excellent beautification efforts to improve the appearance of the town. These efforts have included new landscaping and plantings, an NCDOT floral median, benches, decorative flags, welcome signs and riverfront decorations.

—  Sharon Flowe, science teacher at Tuscola High School, for her work in organizing litter pick-ups and recycling efforts at the school, including scheduling tours of the recycling facility for students.

—  Jarvis Hampton. Hampton is an exemplary teenager who participated in every roadside litter pick-up organized by the CCC last year.

—  Haywood County Sheriff’s Office. Sheriff Greg Christopher, Chief Deputy Jeff Haynes and Detention Captain Jim Schick provided both staff and inmates for CCC roadside litter clean-ups.  They also have assisted with the Haywood County Solid Waste litter control.

—  Haywood Soil and Water Conservation District. H.S.W.C.D. sponsors a Youth Environmental Stewardship (YES) camp each summer. The YES camp educates youngsters on environmental issues and the importance of caring for their planet.

—  Mark Ethridge. Ethridge has worked tirelessly as a volunteer for the YES camp and has brought groups of youths to tour the recycling facility and the White Oak landfill to see what happens to discarded items.

—  Tuscola High School Ecology Club and advisor Suzanne Orbock-Miller. The Ecology Club, with advisor Orbock-Miller, cleans the stadium after every home game. They collect litter and separate recyclables from the stands.

—  Ken Zulla. As a Lake Junaluska resident, Ken has devoted much time, energy and money to organize daily clean-ups around Lake Junaluska every spring and summer.  He also recruited a Boy Scout troop to help with the clean-ups as their service project.

This year, the CCC sponsored an original and exciting contest among the almost 1,200 kindergarten and first-grade students in all nine county elementary schools.

The students were invited to do a black-and-white drawing of an “anti-litter” theme. A panel of judges in the schools picked 18 winners — nine from kindergarten and nine from first grade.  The drawings are being printed as 1,200 booklets by Print Haus. Each student will receive a coloring book containing the 18 winning drawings as a gift from the CCC. The names of the winning artists will be announced at the awards luncheon.

The idea for the coloring book contest arose from the CCC’s presentation of “KEEP IT CLEAN,” the high-energy 20 minute program on the importance of keeping our roads and streets clean, which has been presented for two years to all kindergarten and first grade students.

Since 2000, the CCC believes that a litter-free, environmentally conscious clean county is highly beneficial for the financial and physical health of its residents.

For information about the work of the CCC, call Chairman Bill Skelton at 456-3575 or secretary JoAnna Swanson at 452-1550.

JoAnna Swanson is the secretary for the Commission for a Clean County.