Democrats announce award, name officers, delegates, chairs at county convention

Apr 23, 2013

At the annual Haywood County Democratic County Convention, held Saturday, April 20, at the New Justice Center, Bill Jones, a Waynesville attorney and past chair of the Haywood County Democratic Party, received the  Liston B. Ramsey Award for outstanding service to the chair and party. He was formally honored at the annual Liston B. Ramsey Spring Gala in Asheville that evening.
Attendees elected officers for the 2013-15 term.They are Chair, Janie Benson (re-elected); First Vice Chair, Charles “Skeeter” Curtis; Second Vice Chair, Patrick Willis; Third Vice Chair, Ivy Dyckman (re-elected); Secretary, Mary Feichter; and Treasurer, Jack T. Nichols Jr.
Delegates to the state executive committee were elected, as well. They are Sybil Mann, Nancy Fish and Phil Ferguson. John Vanderstar will serve as alternate.
Steering Committee chairs are Myrna Campbell, finance; Jan Pressley, rallies and special events; Jim Doyle, community involvement; Juanita Dixon, communications; Larry Ammons, candidate support; and Nancy Fish, precinct issues. For information, call the Haywood County Democratic office at 452-9607 or visit