Eleven HCS Students selected for NC Honors Chorus

By Jenny Wood | Feb 13, 2013
Photo by: Donated photo Pictured, from left, are (front) Emilie Thompson, Cayla Hicks, Laurel Causby, McLain Youngwood, Alex Traynham, Director Tim Stiles; (back) director Joni Britt, Allison Cabe, director Dr. Janna Brendell, Sam Rogers, Bobby Jenkins, director Paula Nichols and director Martha Brown.

Students from Haywood County Elementary and Middle Schools were recognized at the January School Board meeting for their acceptance and participation to the NC Honors Chorus. Eleven students from HCS traveled to Winston – Salem for a special performance at the NC Music Educators Annual Conference.

To be selected as a member of the NC Honors Chorus, students are asked to complete various steps. Middle school students must perform a rehearsed song for a judge as well as musical selection they have never heard or seen before. The judging for middle school students takes place in Hickory.

Elementary students record a song on a CD and the recordings are sent to be judged.

Over 1,000 middle schools students and 800 elementary school students auditioned from across the state. Around 150 from each are selected.

From  Waynesville Middle, under the direction of Dr. Janna Brendell  five students were selected.
Allison Cabe
Bobby Jenkins
Sam Rogers
Hayden Swanger
Mark Wiggins

From Bethel Middle School, under the direction of Joni Brit one student was selected.
Emilie Thompson

From Jonathan Valley Elementary, Central Elementary, North Canton Elementary, and Junaluska Elementary,  under the direction of choral teachers, Paula Nichols, Martha Brown and Tim Stiles, five students were selected.
Laurel Causby
Haley Gombert
McLain Youngwood
Cayla Hicks
Alex Traynham