Environmental stewardship award winners announced

By JoAnna Swanson | Jan 25, 2013
Photo by: Donated photo Above are the Commission for a Clean County award winners from 2012.

The Commission for a Clean County (CCC) has selected the 2012 winners of its annual Community Pride Awards program.

This program honors businesses, community groups, civic clubs, schools and individuals (both adults and children) for exceptional efforts in the categories of litter pick-up and control, recycling, beautification of public area and environmental stewardship, which includes “green” building.

This year, the CCC introduced a brand new environmental program for school children.

In September, the kindergarten and first grades in all nine elementary schools in the county were treated to “Keep It Clean,” a high-energy 20 minute program on the importance of keeping streets and roads clean, as well as recycling. The program featured the litter troll, acted by Zondra Robinson of the county Solid Waste Center, who wore colorful garb and tossed litter in front of the children gathered in the auditorium. The children were then invited to pick it up.

Dr. Anne Garrett, Superintendent of Schools, while attending the program, inspired the children by doing her share of litter pick-up. As the program was a huge hit with both pupils and teachers, it will be repeated next year.

Community Pride winners always are chosen based on: quality of effort, quantit of work actually done, consistency in good practice and committment of all those involved in any project.

The 2012 winners include:

• Appalachian Antique Hardwoods, for being “green” and using reclaimed, re-purposed and restored wood in their building;

• Tom Anspach, private citizen and Adopt-A-Stream volunteer who picked up over two tons of trash from the Pigeon River;

• First United Methodist Church “Green Team” for many recycling and energy-saving measures;

• Frog Level Merchants Association for both waterways and street cleanup plus streetscapes projects to improve the appearance of the Frog level area;

• Heidi Warren, D.A.R.E. Officer of the Sheriff’s Office, for coordinating a beautification project at Junaluska Elementary School, symbolizing the students’ pledges of drug-free living;

• Ron Moss, Haywood County’s Elementary School Supervisor, for his diligent organization of the presentation of the CCC’s new “Keep It Clean” program in the elementary schools;

• Zondra Robinson, for creating and acting the part of the litter troll;

• Julia Skelton, a teen who not only participated in CCC litter pick-up days but who also recruited her friends to participate;

Two of last year’s winners also will be recognized by receiving certificates of appreciation for their continuing dedication to a clean environment. The members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints and James Swan, private citizen, continue to participate in every CCC litter pick-up.

The awards luncheon will be held on Wednesday, Feb. 13, at the Waynesville Inn. Many civic leaders have been invited to see the winners honored for their excellent efforts.

In existence since the year 2000, the CCC believes that a litter-free, environmentally conscious clean county is highly beneficial for the financial and physical health of its residents. Property values rise and the county will attract more businesses.

For information about the work of the CCC, call Chairman Bill Skelton at 456-3575 or secretary JoAnna Swanson at 452-1550.