HCC holds Honors Day ceremony

By Haywood Community College | May 08, 2014

Haywood Community College recently held an Honors Day ceremony to celebrate its outstanding students and recognize their accomplishments. The program was held in the Charles Beall Auditorium. Honors Day gives instructional and student services divisions a wonderful opportunity to recognize student excellence.

Dr. Barbara Parker, HCC president, recognized students the following students who had maintained a 4.0 average throughout their academic years at the college: Breaa Shirlen Bowman, Dana Claire, Rebecca B. Craig, Jessica Ryan Davis, Benjamin Ralph Disney, Bret Christopher Duncan, Barbara Marie Edlen, Leanne Brooks Flowers, Eula Foster, Stephen Joseph Glenn, Tina Michele Halstead, Deanna Page Kaufman, Rhonda Coleene Kitchens, Shayla Nicole Knuckles, Katie Krowicki, Cynthia Airee Logan, Rebekah Kay Maxwell, Beverly Jean Sisti and Kristen Renee Smith.

Students who were recognized at the ceremony were:

— 2014 Academic Excellence Award: Nicholas Alexander Wilson

— North Carolina Community College System Student Leadership Development Program Representative: Karen McCracken

— Governor Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award: Karen McCracken;

— Dallas Herring Achievement Award: Gerald Sanchez

— 2014 Academic Leadership Award: Lisa Dawn Frady

— 2014 Academic Service Award: Daniel Mordecai Howard

— Excellence in Education and Stewardship Award for Forest Management: Craig Allen Breedlove

— Council of Eastern Forest Technician Schools Forest Technician Honor Society: Craig Allen Breedlove, Trevor Logan Buchanan, Grady Carroll, Benjamin Ralph Disney, and Timothy S. Greer

— Outstanding Student Award in Horticulture Technology: Bret Christopher Duncan

— Outstanding Fish and Wildlife Management for Academic Excellence and Professional Involvement Award: Nicholas Alexander Wilson and Shelly Read

— Excellence in Education and Stewardship Award for Fish and Wildlife Management Technology: Nicholas Alexander Wilson

— Outstanding Cosmetic Arts Student: Lindsey Michelle Clontz

— Outstanding Criminal Justice Student: Stephen Joseph Glenn

— Outstanding Early Childhood Education Student: Kristen Renee Smith

— Outstanding Medical Assisting Student, Angela Lee Livingston;

— Outstanding Nursing Student: Jamie Lynne Sane

— Top Machinist Award: James Michael Taylor Holton

— MVP Building Construction Technology Student: Justin Craig Bishop

— Outstanding Electrical Systems Technology Student: Kenneth J. McMillian

— Collision Repair Professional of the Year: Shane Levi Rose

— Most Outstanding Welding Student: David Lee Beaudoin and Stephen Robert Burnisky

— Outstanding Student in Accounting: Patrick Wesley Willis

— Outstanding Student in Business Administration: Diane Adele Phillips

— Outstanding Student in Computer Information Technology: Shawn Russell Votaw

— Outstanding Student in Entrepreneurship: Dean Scott Burns

— Outstanding Student in Healthcare Business Informatics: Michael Jason Pryor

— Outstanding Student in Medical Office Administration: Shayla Nicole Knuckles

— Outstanding Student in Networking Technology: Jeffrey Ian Shook

— Professional Crafts Leadership in Clay: Jessica Ryan Davis

— Professional Crafts Leadership in Fiber: Clara Lea Schulte

— Professional Crafts Leadership in Jewelry: Joshua Snead and Becky Genell Burnette

— Professional Crafts Leadership in Wood: Dale Wayne Ball

— Outstanding Natural Science Student: Shelby Marie Satterly and Melvin Wayne Little

— Outstanding Social Science Student: Kenneth W. Escucha

— Outstanding English and Communication Student: Crystal Michelle Plemmons

— Outstanding Humanities Student: Richard Allen Walker

— Outstanding Chemistry Student: Justin Dylan Stocker