Waynesville earns National Main Street Center accreditation

Jul 23, 2014

The N.C. Department of Commerce, Office of Urban Development has announced that Waynesville was one of 20 North Carolina communities to achieve accreditation from the National Main Street Center for meeting the commercial district revitalization performance standards set by the National Main Street Center, a subsidiary of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

The other communities that received this accreditation for their 2013 performance are Brevard, Burlington, Clayton, Concord, Elizabeth City, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Goldsboro, Hickory, Kings Mountain, Lincolnton, Marion, Monroe, Morganton, New Bern, Spruce Pine, Statesville, Wake Forest and Wilson.

“We congratulate this year’s nationally accredited Main Street programs for their outstanding accomplishment in meeting the National Main Street Center’s performance standards,” said Patrice Frey, president and CEO of the National Main Street Center. “Accredited Main Street programs create vibrant communities by using a comprehensive strategy to preserve their historic character and revitalize their commercial districts, which helps make these great places to work, live, play and visit.”

Working in partnership with the National Main Street Center, the North Carolina Main Street Center evaluates each of the state’s local Main Street organizations annually to identify those programs that meet 10 performance standards. These standards set the benchmarks for measuring an individual Main Street program’s application of the Main Street Four Point Approach to commercial district revitalization. Evaluation criteria determine the communities that are building comprehensive and sustainable revitalization efforts and include standards such as fostering strong public-private partnerships, securing an operating budget, tracking programmatic progress and actively preserving historic buildings.

For more information, visit www.preservationnation.org.