BRC Middle School Football Championship

WMS Mountaineers win BRC football title

Mountaineers beat Polk County to cap a perfect season
By Staff Reports | Oct 22, 2013
Photo by: Patrick Parton The Waynesville Middle School football team after beating Polk County, 24-22, to win the Blue Ridge Conference championship on Thursday, Oct. 17.

Midway through the fourth quarter, quarterback Grayson Perkins threw a 50-yard touchdown pass to Sam Messer that gave the Waynesville Middle School football team a 24-22 lead over visiting Polk County Middle School at C.E. Weatherby Stadium on Thursday, Oct. 17.
The Wolverines responded by driving the ball to the Mountaineers’ 20 in the final minute of the Blue Ridge Conference championship game.
But on third down, Dylan Reece and Joey Diienno sacked Polk County’s quarterback and on fourth down, Dylan Shuler sealed the deal by sacking the QB again to give West Division champion Waynesville Middle School the BRC football title.
The win gave WMS a perfect 8-0 season.
After the Wolverines took an 8-0 lead in the first quarter,  Waynesville Middle’s Bailey Ewart took the ensuing kickoff 70 yards for a touchdown to slice the deficit to two points, 8-6.
Polk County took an 14-12 lead into halftime.
In the third quarter, Ewart scored on a short rush to give the Mountaineers a brief lead, 18-14.
Early in the fourth quarter, a Polk County interception set up its go-ahead touchdown, 22-18, before the Perkins  to Messer championship-winning scoring strike.