Lake Junaluska — Celebrating 100 years

World Methodist Council locates at Lake Junaluska

Jul 20, 2013

The World Methodist Council finds its origins in a conference held in London, England at Wesley’s Chapel in 1881 where some 400 delegates from 30 Methodist bodies around the world gathered in an Ecumenical Methodist Conference. Thereafter, World Methodist conferences were held every ten years until 1931. In 1931 a decision was made to organize a Council - a new agency to express the common ideals and objectives of worldwide Methodism. Due to World War II, the Conference would not meet again until 1947 and the organization plans were delayed. At the 1951 Conference, two decisions were taken to ensure the stability of the conferences: 1) that the name be changed to the World Methodist Council; 2) that the Council should meet at five-year intervals. In 1956, the World Methodist Council established a permanent headquarters in the United States at Lake Junaluska, North Carolina. The meetings of the Ecumenical Methodist Conference and, after 1951, of the World Methodist Council have been:

1881 – London, England 1891 – Washington, DC, USA

1901 – London, England 1911 – Toronto, Canada

1921 – London, England 1931 – Atlanta, USA

1947 – Springfield, Mass., USA 1951 – Oxford, England

1956 – Lake Junaluska, USA 1961 – Oslo, Norway

1966 – London, England 1971 – Denver, USA

1976 – Dublin, Ireland 1981 – Honolulu, USA

1986 – Nairobi, Kenya 1991 – Singapore, Singapore

1996 – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 2001 – Brighton, England

2006 – Seoul, South Korea 2011 – Durban, South Africa

The World Methodist Council is composed of between 250 to 528 delegates elected from its member churches. From 2001 onward, the Council has averaged at 400 members. Representation is determined by Church membership and financial contribution to the work of the Council. The Council President and the General Secretary are the principal officers of the Council. In the interim of its meetings, the World Methodist Council is governed by a Steering Committee representative of its constituent Churches composed of Elected Officers, Standing Committee Chairs, non-voting Staff and representatives of affiliated organizations.